VDMA

INDIA 2016

Best of Germany 2014 - Mining Equipment and Mining Technology

Issue link: https://vdma.epubxp.com/i/743598

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 2 of 51

E&MJ/Coal Age India 2016 • 1 Editor's Note Engineering Solutions to Improve Productivity Globally, India is the third largest coal producer, the fourth largest iron ore producer and is among the top 10 producers of various minerals such as chromite and zinc. Ironically, the country has been unable to satisfy demand with domestic resources. Until last year, India had exported a significant quantity of iron ore. Govern- ment taxation and legislation have squeezed exports to the point where India is now a net importer of iron ore. Although at today's prices, iron ore exports do not generate nearly as much revenue as they did two years ago. India's aluminum industry is in a similar position. Despite having some of the largest known bauxite reserves, India imports bauxite to produce aluminum. No doubt as its population steadily climbs toward 1.3 billion people and global demand for resources grows, India finds a way to better leverage its resources. It will need to invest in the technology needed to open new, more efficient mines, and to retool existing mines and the supporting infrastructure. Realizing its bad bargaining position as an import-dependent economy, India has even started to explore and develop projects in other countries. Obviously, mining and mineral processing is becoming a very serious business for India. Each year, Mining Media produces several regional editions by repurposing technical information from Engineering & Mining Journal (E&MJ) and Coal Age, the two leading mining trade journals. E&MJ covers the metal mining and mineral processing business worldwide. It has about 20,000 readers who are mostly mine engineers, metallurgists and geologists. Coal Age covers the U.S. coal mining and processing sector, which only recently became the second largest coal producer behind China. It has more than 16,000 readers who are mostly mine engineers, mine managers and prep plant managers. For this special edition of Coal Age India, several articles were selected that previously appeared in E&MJ and Coal Age or were submitted specifically for it. This edition also includes a special section, the Best of Germany, which was produced in cooperation with the German Engineering Federation (VDMA). Many of the mines in Germany have closed, but the region still makes some of the best mining equipment, and it exports its expertise to mining regions around the world. In this special section, VDMA members talk about how they are improving safety and technology. It also includes a directory of those companies as a reference tool. The best way for India to quickly grow its resource production capacity is through the use of engineering and better equipment and technology. For more than a century now, these mining trade journals have offered mining and processing professionals ideas on how to accomplish these goals. Enjoy this edition of Coal Age India. Sincerely, Steve Fiscor, Editor-in-Chief, E&MJ/Coal Age sfiscor@mining-media.com 2016 www.mining-media.com Mining Media International — Editorial Office 11655 Central Parkway, Suite 306 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 • Fax: +1.904.721.2930 Mining Media International — Corporate Office 8751 East Hampden, Suite B1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. Phone: +1.303.283.0640 • Fax: +1.303.283.0641 President/Publisher – Peter Johnson, pjohnson@mining-media.com U.S. & Canada Sales Manager – Victor Matteucci, vmatteucci@mining-media.com Scandinavia, UK & European Sales Manager – Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com German Sales Manager – Gerd Strasmann, info@strasmann-media.de Production Manager – Dan Fitts, dfitts@mining-media.com COPYRIGHT 2016: Coal Age. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Indian Coal Industry .........................................3 BKT Aims to Change the Game in Giant OTR Tire Markett ....................................9 Best of Germany 2016 ...................................11 Equipment & Technology ................................48 Table of Contents Steve Fiscor/Editor-in-Chief Editor-In-Chief – Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining-media.com African Editor – Gavin du Venage, gavinduvenage@gmail.com Western Field Editor – Russ Carter, russ.carter.emj@gmail.com European Editor – Simon Walker, simon.emj@btinternet.com Latin American Editor – Oscar Martinez, omartinez@mining-media.com Assistant Editor – Jennifer Jensen, jjensen@mining-media.com Graphic Designer – Michael Florman, mflorman@mining-media.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of VDMA - INDIA 2016